Desgin and construction of landfill gas collection, treatment and ”landfill gas to energy“ systems

Today, sanitary landfilling is a widely known solution for disposing Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) and keeping urban environment clean. If MSW is stored under conditions of oxygen absence, rising temperature and moisture, anaerobic biological decomposition of organic waste takes place. One of the products of this process is landfill gas which is composed of methane (50–65%), carbon dioxide (35–50%) and a small amount of impurities such as nitrogen, hydrogen sulfide and volatile organic compounds. Landfill gas is a toxic gas which continues to generate even after 10 to 30 years after the landfill’s closure.

Landfill gas poses ecological and health dangers, if not collected and treated properly. Open fires can break out at the surface of the landfill and smoldering combustion can occur inside the landfill’s waste body. The prediction and prevention of landfill fires can hardly be made, because tracing the source of landfill fires visually is almost impossible, until the fire or smoke has surfaced. Furthermore, large cavities may develop inside the landfill body as a result of fires and smoldering. This leads to dangerous settlements and instabilities of the waste layers, which cause dangerous landslides and slope failures.

The odors of landfill gas caused by mercaptan impurities (organosulfur compounds) can have a heavy impact on the health of residents living in the surrounding area. The generation of those toxic gases creates a longtime problem and their mitigation and elimination are complex and costly.

In order to avoid ecological and health risks which occur due to landfill gas, proper collection and treatment systems have to be worked out. ECOCOM is specialized in the design of landfill gas collection, treatment and ”landfill gas to energy“ systems which meet all current environmental requirements.

A standard collection system consists of a network of vertical wells connected to horizontal pipes. The average radius of a landfill gas collection area around such a well is about 50 m. The gas collection system should cover not only the already filled, but also the waste compartments in operation.

A landfill gas collection and treatment system is primarily an environmental protection measure, especially if the collected landfill gas is treated in flare stacks. From an economic point of view it is reasonable to utilize landfill gas as a renewable energy source.

In order to achieve the highest efficiency of the system, a preliminary theoretical calculation and computer simulation of gas formation within the landfill has to be made. This way it can be determined how many wells are required and where they should be located.

Elements of gas collection, treatment and ”landfill gas to energy“ systems:

  • landfill gas collection wells,
  • horizontal pipe network,
  • condensate knock-out-pots,
  • manifold station,
  • condensate collector,
  • booster station, high temperature flare, gas treatment equipment and cogeneration plants (CHP), etc.

The main objectives of a landfill gas collection, treatment and ”landfill gas to energy“ systems are to:

  • reduce negative impact of a MSW landfill site on nearby settlements and eliminate unpleasant odors,
  • reduce adverse impact on a global level by reducing greenhouse gas emissions,
  • reduce the danger of fire and hazardous explosion within the MSW landfill body,
  • upgrade safety precautions of MSW landfill employees
  • use of Renewable Energy Sources (RES).
Landfill gas collection, treatment and "landfill gas to energy" system

Landfill gas collection, treatment and "landfill gas to energy" system

Request

You request has been sent. Thank you!

WASMA-2019:
Treffen Sie sich mit uns!

Systeme zur Sammlung, Aufbereitung und Verwertung von Deponiegas

Umweltsichere Deponierung von Abfällen ist eine weit verbreitete und effiziente Lösung zur Ablagerung von Abfall und zur Reduktion von Umweltverschmutzung in den Städten. Durch Feuchtigkeit, Sauerstoffmangel und hohe Temperaturen findet der anaerobe biologische Abbau von organischen Abfällen statt. Durch diesen Prozess bildet Deponiegas, welches sich aus Methan (50–65%), Kohlendioxid (35–50%) und aus kleinen Mengen von Stickstoff, Schwefelwasserstoff und volatilen organischen Verbindungen zusammensetzt. Deponiegas ist sehr giftig und entsteht auch noch 10–30 Jahre nach der Schließung der Deponie.

Wird Deponiegas nicht ordnungsgemäß gesammelt und aufbereitet, stellt es ein hohes Risiko für Gesundheit und Umwelt dar. Durch Deponiegas können offene Brände auf der Deponieoberfläche ausbrechen und Fäulnis im Inneren des Deponiekörpers verursachen. Schutzmaßnahmen und Vorbeugungen sind nur schwer durchführbar, da die Brandursache nicht im Vorhinein bestimmt werden kann. Des Weiteren können sich, aufgrund von Fäulnis und Bränden, große Hohlräume im Inneren des Deponiekörpers bilden. Dies führt zu gefährlichen Instabilitäten der Abfallschichten und in weitere Folge zu Erdrutschen oder Hangversagen.

Deponiegas verursacht des Weiteren unangenehme Geruchsquellen, die durch Verunreinigungen aus Merkaptan entstehen und ein hohes Gesundheitsrisiko darstellen.

Die Entstehung von Deponiegas ist ein großes Problem, die Eliminierung sehr schwierig und kostenintensiv ist.

ECOCOM“ spezialisiert sich daher auf die Planung und den Bau von Anlagen zur Sammlung, Aufbereitung und Verwertung von Deponiegas. Diese Anlagen sind mit allen Umweltanforderungen konform und unumgänglich um Umwelt-und Gesundheitsrisiken zu vermeiden.

Ein System zur Sammlung von Deponiegas besteht aus vertikalen Gasbrunnen, die mit horizontalen Schläuchen verbunden sind. Die Gasbrunnen werden in einem Radius von ca. 50 m auf der Abfalldeponie verteilt. Dieses Sammlungssystem sollte auf der gesamten Deponie (d.h. auch in den Bereichen, wo bereits Abfall liegt) installiert werden.

Das gesammelte Deponiegas wird in einer Fackelanlage unschädlich gemacht, um so die negativen Auswirkungen auf Gesundheit und Umwelt zu eliminieren. Des Weiteren kann das Deponiegas auch in einem Blockheizkraftwerk als erneuerbare Energiequelle genutzt werden. Dadurch wird nicht nur ein ökologischer, sondern auch ein ökonomischer Vorteil generiert.

Um höchste Effizienz der Systeme zu gewährleisten, wird vorab eine theoretische Berechnung sowie eine Computersimulation zur Entstehung von Deponiegas auf der Abfalldeponie erstellt. Mit dieser Simulation kann die Menge an notwendigen Gasbrunnen, sowie deren Platzierung bestimmt werden.

Systeme zur Sammlung, Aufbereitung und Verwertung von Deponiegas bestehen aus folgenden Bauelementen:

  • Gasbrunnen zur Sammlung von Deponiegas
  • Horizontale Schläuche zum Transport von Deponiegas
  • Kondensatabscheider
  • Gassammelstation
  • Kondensatsammler
  • Verdichterstation, Hochtmeperaturfackel, Blockheizkraftwerke (BHKW)

Systeme zur Sammlung, Aufbereitung und Verwertung von Deponiegas garantieren:

  • die Reduktion von unangenehmen Geruchsquellen sowie die negativen Auswirkungen von Abfalldeponien auf die Umwelt,
  • die Reduktion von Treibhausgasen,
  • die Reduktion der Brand-und Explosionsgefahr im Deponiekörper,
  • höhere Sicherheitsstandards für die Arbeiter auf Abfalldeponien,
  • die Verwendung von erneuerbaren Energiequellen.
Systeme zur Sammlung, Aufbereitung und Verwertung von Deponiegas

Systeme zur Sammlung, Aufbereitung und Verwertung von Deponiegas

Anfrage

Ihre Anfrage wurde gesendet, Vielen Dank!